Author Topic: Genesis Clock build  (Read 3958 times)

Offline Rocketcaver

Genesis Clock build
« on: February 20, 2014, 09:20:23 AM »
I received my new scroll saw yesterday, as well as the Spring 2011 edition of ScrollSaw Woodworking and Crafts Magazine (issue #42).  This issue has the plans and a very nice write-up for Clayton Boyer's Genesis Clock, which is touted as a simple to build and get going affair suitable for the beginner.  As I am a complete beginner at this sort of thing, I thought it would be a good place to start.  I am sure that "simple" is a very subjective term.
I thought I would start a build thread here to document my progress.  I invite all comments and suggestions; I have the feeling that I will be able to use all the help that I can get.  I'll add photos as I progress.

Offline Sablatnic

Re: Genesis Clock build
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2014, 12:23:56 PM »
Congratulations on your new saw, And I will be looking forward to seeing the progress on your clock! But don't expect too many comments. We are quite a quiet bunch of people here.

Josef

Offline Rocketcaver

« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2014, 06:10:27 PM »
Thanks for the comment Josef.  Yes, the forum has been pretty quiet for a while.  As long as I know at least one person is following along I'll keep up with updates.
Looking over these clock plans, I realize that I got lucky in at least one respect.  This clock uses mostly 3/8 plywood... I still have most of the 3/8 inch Baltic Birch plywood that I ordered a couple of years ago, and I have plenty of brass stock and drill rod (silver steel) for the arbors so I'll just have to buy a few bits and pieces.  I'll have to do some shopping this weekend and pick up some scrollsaw blades though, kind of hard to get started without those.  Any advice on what blades to get would be welcome.
« Last Edit: February 20, 2014, 06:16:51 PM by Rocketcaver »

Offline jasc15

« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2014, 07:26:45 PM »