Author Topic: Self introduction and request.  (Read 16115 times)

Offline ub52

Self introduction and request.
« on: October 29, 2007, 10:22:09 AM »
Hello Everyone,

I recently joined this forum. This is my first post and I'd like to introduce myself. My name is Bob Landry and I live in San Diego, CA. I'm a woodworker/renaissance hobbyist who has been on hiatus from the fibrous medium for many years but recently got re-inspired by stumbling upon some videos on YouTube of some of Clayton Boyers wooden clocks.

In the mid 70’s I subscribed to a new magazine, Fine Woodworking, and remember being blown away by an image in the first issue of a floor clock made entirely of wood. The clock was designed and built by John Gaughan. A later issue, in 1978 had an article, which further inflame my desire to attempt to build one myself. However, being a young chap of meager resources, it was beyond my ability at the time to fund such a project. Not so now, and thanks to Clayton Boyer from whom I purchased plans to his #6, I’ve started construction on my first wooden clock. I’ve gotten most of the pieces cut but still need finish sanding. It’s been a more ambitious undertaking then I original anticipated but it has been an extremely enjoyable process nonetheless.

This brings me to the reason for this post. In my research to get a better understanding of clock making and horology in general I have scoured the web for resources on the subject. My ultimate desire is to realize a finished product of my own design and to that end I’ve been devouring as much reference material as I can find. A couple of resources which I have found personally illuminating, are Hugh Sparks’ Designing Cycloidal Gears at http://www.csparks.com/watchmaking/CycloidalGears/index.jhtml and Matthias Wandel's website which has an interactive gear template generator at http://woodgears.ca/gear_cutting/template.html.