Author Topic: New clock builder checking in.  (Read 14047 times)

Offline jasc15

New clock builder checking in.
« on: September 27, 2010, 12:00:09 PM »
I want to introduce myself to this group by showing you my own experiences so far.

The first step into this world is a bit fuzzy, but at some point during a long period web browsing, I came across Clayton Boyer's clocks.  I thought it would be great fun to build my own clock, and thought of giving it a try.  Some months passed and I forgot about the whole thing.  Then I started looking on Clayton's site again, as well as some others that offered partly finished kits, and probably every youtube video featuring wooden gears.  I determined I could design and build my own, so in February of this year, I began designing.  I am a mechanical engineer, and use Solidworks on a daily basis, so I got to work.  I read about several escapement designs, and determined that the Graham Dead Beat would be the easiest choice.  As for the look of the clock, I decided on copying the Swiss rail clock for the face and hands.

Here is the first iteration of the design:

I decided to use involute tooth profiles, mainly because i didnt know how to design anything else that would work.  Many other clocks I've seen use profiles which are obviously not involute, but I reasoned that this would work fine.  Plus, I knew how to derive the shape easily in CAD.  I also figured a pinned escape wheel would be pretty easy to make, but later went with the one you see below.

I later decided to put the seconds hand on the main face, which turned out the be a major problem when i eventually built it.  This is the latest of the solidworks design.  I used photoworks to make it look cool:

And an exploded view:

Here is a picture of the first build: